MA History

The history of this Faculty is traced back to 1948 when it was called the "Faculty of Accounting and Administrative Sciences". After the Islamic Revolution in Iran, in August 1981, several colleges, institutes, and faculties merged to form the then "Faculty of Accounting and Management". The merged institutes included the College of Accounting and Financial Sciences, Higher School of Commerce, University of Science and Technology, Centre for Public Administration Training, Centre for Management Studies of Iran, Industrial Management Organization, Faculty of Social Communication Sciences, International Faculty of Administrative and Commercial Affairs, Abu Reihan University, Higher School of Hospitality and Flight Services, and Higher School of Tourism and Hospitality Services. The Faculty of Accounting and Management was set up in Tavanir St., Tehran. In 2014, the Faculty was moved from Tavanir Street to its current location on the central campus of Allameh Tabataba’i University in Dehkade-ye Olampik.
The oldest programmes in this Faculty are Accounting and Finance, Business Administration, and Public Administration. The accounting and finance programme was launched in 1957, Business Administration in 1958 and Public Administration in 1972. Further on, the Faculty started to admit students in various other fields of study, including Business Administration, Public Administration, Industrial Management, Accounting, Banking, Postal Services, Flight Services, Tourism, and Hospitality Management. In 2010, the Faculty was renamed from “Accounting and Management” to the Faculty of Management and Accounting (MA).
There are currently seven departments in the MA, namely the departments of

Business Administration
Finance and Banking
Industrial Management
Technology and Entrepreneurship Management
Public Administration
Tourism Management

More information about the current state of the MA Faculty is available on the About MA page.



tags: history faculty of management and accounting